I actually had two male colleagues proofread my last blog entry. After all, I didn’t want to sound like a bra-burning, man-hating liberal. So in thinking about my next blog I said, “I definitely have to stay away from the women’s issues this week or else people will think I am a crazy feminist.” Then I realized, what is so wrong with being a crazy feminist? In fact, shouldn’t we all be crazy feminists? Shouldn’t we all want an equitable society for our sisters, mothers, daughters, and wives?

Yesterday, our She-roes event amassed more than 60 nonprofit rosie_the_riveter1women (and one brave man) who weren’t afraid of the “f” word. As evidenced by the passionate discussion on how to better support women in the nonprofit sector – the topic is far from irrelevant. Looking around the room, I couldn’t evade the feelings of reverence. I admire these women who work tirelessly to make our community a better, more vibrant place. I am inspired by them. I am inspired by the woman who is a recent doctoral graduate, an executive, and a mother of two. I am inspired by the woman – a victim of domestic violence – who discovered a voice by helping other victims. I am inspired by the teenager who accompanied her mother – a mother who was demonstrating her life’s work of fostering the growth of young girls. Today, I am proud to be a crazy feminist.

“How important it is for us to recognize and celebrate our heroes and she-roes!” – Maya Angelou

